Find Exchangeable Value
Looking for gift ideas?

Live chat with our gifting experts now to find that perfect gift!

Start a Live Chat
Find Exchangeable Value
View Basket basket >

Historic Towns and Cities

A weekend of cultural discovery!

13 locations

3.53.5 | 15 Reviews

Product code: FWGBB

£179

Exchange Now

Description

If you’re looking to treat someone to a historic weekend break away, why not surprise them with this Historic Towns & Cities Gift break for two.

Once you have purchased your Historic Towns & Cities Gift break, you will be able to spend time selecting the perfect location for your break from the wide range of locations featured.

The UK has a long and intriguing history with hundreds of hidden treasures tucked away, sometimes in the most unlikely places. There are places where our national heritage has been preserved almost intact, meaning that we have a wide choice of interesting hotels in beautiful cities for you to explore and enjoy a real taste of what life was like for our predecessors.

With a wide choice of cultural and historic settings, these breaks are guaranteed to bring our legacy to life and allow guests to discover the nation’s traditions at their finest.

This break is a two night stay for two with breakfast.

Key Information

When can you go?

This hotel accepts bookings Monday to Sunday subject to availability., This break is available on selected dates throughout the year excluding Christmas and the New Year.

How long does this activity last?

This is a two night stay for two including breakfast.

You need to know

The minimum age is 18 years old.

At least two weeks in advance subject to availability.

This is for a voucher entitling the holder to any of the activities supplied by Activity Superstore up to the value stated.

You and how many others?

This is a two night break for two people and includes breakfast.

Locations

Reviews

Ratings Snapshot

Select a row below to filter reviews.

5
4
4
5
3
3
1
3

Average Customer Ratings

Overall
3.5
3.5
Enjoyment
3.6
3.6
Quality of Venue
3.3
3.3
Service
3.5
3.5

1 - 3 of 3 Reviews

Sort by:

1 -

Verified Purchaser

Poor Experience Lack of choice, poor hotel booking

We followed the procedure to make a booking and found that the number of locations was quite small. We emailed the booking through the voucher system and had it confirmed back to us that the dates were available only to find that when we arrived at the hotel near Chester, the hotel had no booking for us. They did find a room for us which was lucky as they had coach parties taking up most of the hotel. The hotel was very tired and desperately in need of maintenance. The only lift did not work the entire time we were there. The service the staff provided was poor. The choice of breakfast was abysmal.

When did your experience take place? August 2018

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Mercure Chester North Woodhey House

✘ No. I do not recommend this product.

2 Enjoyment
1 Quality of Venue
1 Service

1 -

Verified Purchaser

Worst hotel ever!

I bought this as a Birthday present for my wife and didn't use it till my birthday so I was looking forward to a real treat. Oh dear!! Booked into Methu Belstead Brook Hotel in Ipswich and I can truly say this was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. This poorly run and now rather shabby hotel spoilt our whole weekend away to the point where I now wish I'd never paid for one of these breaks. I've posted a scathing report on Tripadvisor following which I was asked via email by 'the manager' to provide my telephone number so he could call me to discuss the multitude off issues raised. Needless to say, I've never received a call. My advice is, do not take an Historic City break in Ipswich, but if you do, book at another hotel! I shall find it very difficult to book another of these packages again because for me, a complete waste of money.

When did your experience take place? 16th February 2018

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Methu Belstead Brook Hotel

✘ No. I do not recommend this product.

1 Enjoyment
1 Quality of Venue
1 Service

Response from Activity Superstore

Ria - Customer support - 26/04/2018

Good afternoon, We offer a range of hotels for the Historic Towns and Cities break and I am sorry that the choice you made did not meet your expectations. Having looked into this further, I can confirm that The Belstead Brook hotel are now under new management and they are currently renovating all of the rooms to improve the hotel's décor. I apologise that you have not heard back from the manager after leaving your review on trip advisor, this is not what we expect from our suppliers. If you can kindly get in contact with our customer service team regarding this, we will be happy to look into this further for you with the venue in question. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I hope we will have the chance to showcase our experiences to you under a different light in future.

1 -

Verified Purchaser

Worst ever hotel ever stayed

The historic voucher was a gift for my retirement and we chose Hastings as wanted to go to Rye and the surrounding area. The hotel room was grubby, the curtain moth ridden and torn, the hair dryer was broken, the Tv would work as didn’t have a remote. Worst of all was the breakfast and the attitude of the breakfast staff. He was sexist, only spoke to myself and ignored any request from my wife. The result was that we both received food that we hadn’t actually requested. I accept we could have complained at the time but decided to get away ASAP.

When did your experience take place? 16-18th November 2017

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Chatsworth Hotel, Hastings

✘ No. I do not recommend this product.

1 Enjoyment
1 Quality of Venue
1 Service