Find Exchangeable Value
Looking for gift ideas?

Live chat with our gifting experts now to find that perfect gift!

Start a Live Chat
Find Exchangeable Value
View Basket basket >

Gastro Pub & Restaurant Dining for Two

Dining for two

59 locations

3.43.4 | 11 Reviews

Product code: AZGP

£49

Exchange Now

Description

Treat yourself, a friend and both your taste buds to a delicious mouth-watering meal at a gastro pub or restaurant.

With a wide selection of great restaurants to choose from, including AA Rosette winners and wonderful gastro pubs, this is the perfect gift for all food lovers.

From traditional restaurants and inns serving classic dishes, to contemporary venues offering something a little different, you will enjoy a delicious meal from a specially selected range of cuisines.

Your meal will typically consist of 2 or 3 courses from a set menu, depending on your chosen venue. Your voucher value cannot be discounted from your total bill, please check menu restrictions on booking.

The package also includes the option to purchase a half-price copy of the Good Pub Guide usually worth £15.99. This provides invaluable advice and information on the UK’s best pubs, inns and taverns.

PLEASE NOTE: reservations must be made in advance, the venues will not be able to honour your voucher without a booking being made in advance.

Key Information

When can you go?

This experience is available on weekdays and limited weekends, subject to location and availability.

How long does this activity last?

The meal has no set time, typically it will last 1 to 2 hours.

You need to know

The minimum age is 18 years old.

We would advise you to book at least 2 weeks in advance.

This is for a voucher entitling the holder to any of the activities supplied by Activity Superstore up to the value stated.

You and how many others?

This experience is for two people, there will be others dining on the day.

Locations

Reviews

Ratings Snapshot

Select a row below to filter reviews.

5
4
4
1
3
2
2
2
1
1

Average Customer Ratings

Overall
3.5
3.5
Enjoyment
3.6
3.6
Quality of Venue
3.6
3.6
Service
3.9
3.9

1 - 10 of 10 Reviews

Sort by:

5 -

Verified Purchaser

Wonderful food

My grandson bought it for me for Xmas and I saved it for my holiday. Four of us used it off the total bill.

When did your experience take place? May

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? The wheatsheaf. Bakewell

✔ Yes. I recommend this product.

5 Enjoyment
5 Quality of Venue
5 Service

5 -

Verified Purchaser

Excellent food & service

Starter (salt & pepper calimari with sweet chilli jam) was quite possibly the best food I have ever tasted. Overall meal was fantastic. Servers couldn't be any friendlier. Would most certainly go back.

When did your experience take place? 22nd April 2019

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? The Olde Barn (Marston)

✔ Yes. I recommend this product.

5 Enjoyment
5 Quality of Venue
5 Service

5 -

Verified Purchaser

Fresh local produce, excellent service

Bought as a Christmas gift for us, the venue and menu didn't disappoint. Very quick attentive service with lovely three course menu, plus cheese board and coffee, great value and dxperience

When did your experience take place? Bev 19

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? The Olds Barn Hotel Marston rantham

✔ Yes. I recommend this product.

5 Enjoyment
5 Quality of Venue
5 Service

5 -

Verified Purchaser

Gastric Pub Meal

The Walnut Tree meal was delicious, service was great too, lovely evening, would highly recommend.

When did your experience take place? October

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Walnut Tree

✔ Yes. I recommend this product.

5 Enjoyment
5 Quality of Venue
5 Service

4 -

Verified Purchaser

Great Food.

Had this as a present and used it at the Blue Boar Inn just outside Stratford-upon-Avon. The food was fantastic. They were a little confused about how to deal with the voucher. I followed the instructions on the emails when booking but I think it can be improved. There are no instructions as to what to do when you actually go to the venue. It was worth it though.

When did your experience take place? 13/9/19

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? The Blue Boar Inn

✔ Yes. I recommend this product.

5 Enjoyment
5 Quality of Venue
4 Service

3 -

Verified Purchaser

Nice meal but little choice on venues

There was little choice on venues. We live in Nottinghamshire and the nearest place was 40 mins away in Lincolnshire. No nottingham city centre venues available. We had a 3 course meal from a set menu. The food was good but the choices poor, but luckily they let us have food of their bar menu what was much nicer in our opinion. It was not value for money, we could have purchased what we wanted to eat for less than the value of the voucher.

When did your experience take place? September 2019

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? The Olde Barn Hotel

✘ No. I do not recommend this product.

3 Enjoyment
3 Quality of Venue
5 Service

3 -

Verified Purchaser

Dog & Duck but it is not Ashbourne as described.

We thought we were in Ashbourne so glad I used the Sat Nav. Welcome was excellent and the service throughout.Portions were large and the food very nice. The menu choice with the voucher was limited but there were easily enough options for someone who is not fussy. We sat in the conservatory which looks to be a good location for lunch. The door lock on the ladies was just a screw on a bolt and did not really lock the door. Little things go a long way and this is the only bit my wife remembers of the day.

When did your experience take place? September 2019

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Dog & Duck

✘ No. I do not recommend this product.

3 Enjoyment
3 Quality of Venue
4 Service

2 -

Verified Purchaser

Eating out Gift voucher

This was given to us as a Christmas Gift. A food voucher for use anywhere in the country. However there were no venues in Berkshire and only a very few in Central London. You have to register the voucher before you can even see where it can be used. Once you do that the time limit for use begins. so beware. So we found it very difficult to find the time and venue when we could use the voucher as there were no places to use it near where we live.. When we did use the voucher, the venue/food was fine but service a little slow.

When did your experience take place? 7th June 2019

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Hilton/Doubletree Victoria London

✘ No. I do not recommend this product.

3 Enjoyment
3 Quality of Venue
2 Service

Response from Activity Superstore

- Supplier Co-ordinator - 09/08/2019

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed by the locations available for this package. I can see we list the locations on our packaging as well as the expiry date in which the voucher has to be used by, I do apologise however if you missed this. We are constantly sourcing new locations to ensure nationwide coverage, I do apologise if there was nothing within a suitable distance to you. I will be sure to pass this onto the relevant team to look at broadening our range of venues. I can only apologise that the service was slow during your experience, however I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the food.

2 -

Verified Purchaser

Wouldn’t bother

This was a nightmare to book. There’s no contact number to speak to anyone at Activity Superstore and they take 4 days to get back to emails. They told me they’d booked the experience but when I rang the pub they hadn’t, so it was a lot of back and forth. The actual meal was terrible. The pub itself was run-down, unclean and very bizarre, and the food was poor.

When did your experience take place? March

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? The Dog & Partidge, Ashbourne

✘ No. I do not recommend this product.

1 Enjoyment
1 Quality of Venue
1 Service

Response from Activity Superstore

Tilly - Customer Support - 08/05/2019

Thank you for this review. I am sorry to hear you felt our service was not up to standard. I can see we responded to you within 2 days of every email you send to ourselves; bar delays from weekends. However I can only apologise that you felt this disrupted the booking process and made it less enjoyable. I will ensure your comments with regards to the pub itself are passed on and can only apologise for the disappointment caused there. Thank you once again for your comments, we greatly value customer feedback.

1 -

Verified Purchaser

The Walnut Tree Blisworth- not recommended.

The Walnut Tree Inn Hotel Blisworth 3 weeks ago We visited the Walnut Tree on Thursday 8th August 2019 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was the worst meal ever! The service was very good and both waitresses agreed with my complaints about the fish but were unable to help explaining that the fish portions served were always 'very very small' and nothing could be done about it .They appeared reluctant to speak to the chef. My husband had steak, half of which was ok and the other half gristle! The sweets were equally as bad. Overall, whilst the waitresses tried to make the experience as positive as possible , it was one of the worst meals we have ever had.We will not be returning to The Walnut Tree! Add a photo

When did your experience take place? 08.08.19

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? The Walnut Tree Hotel Blisworth

✘ No. I do not recommend this product.

1 Enjoyment
1 Quality of Venue
3 Service

Response from Activity Superstore

Tilly - Supplier Co-ordinator - 06/09/2019

Thank you for leaving your review. I am ever so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal at The Walnut Tree, we usually receive positive feedback regarding this venue so we are concerned to read your comments. I will be sure to take the matter up with the venue to ensure appropriate improvements are made. I am of course pleased to hear that you found the service to be good, as we always expect this for our customers. Thank you once again for your feedback.